52 kilometres of underground

The Brussels Metro is a rapid transit system serving a large part of the Brussels-Capital Region of Belgium. It consists of four conventional metro lines and three premetro lines. The metro-grade lines  with some shared sections, covering a total of 39.9 kilometres with 59 metro-only stations. The Brussels premetro network consists of three tram lines that partly travel over underground sections that were intended to be eventually converted into metro lines. Underground stations in the premetro network use the same design as metro stations. A few short underground tramway sections exist, so there is a total of 52.0 kilometres of underground metro and tram network. There are a total of 69 metro and premetro stations as of 2011.

FPC Risks added value in metro fire safety

  • Study on smoke and heat extraction and fire safety in metro tunnel Beekkant – Merode (Brussels)
    • Inventarisation and qualitative fire risk analysis of 11 underground stations and connecting Metro tunnels
    • Quantitative CFD and evacuation analysis of 11 underground stations and connecting metro tunnels
  • Large tramp depot Brussels
    • Quantitative risk analysis of the Marconi tram depot;
    • LOPA (Layer of Protection Analysis) to determine the added value of fire protection systems

Other Infrastructure references

Other references